Idling Drivers Subject to Fines
Caldwell Police remind residents state law prohibits idling for more than three minutes. No idling signs available from DEP.
Idling your car is bad for air quality and could be bad for your wallet.
The Caldwell Police Department is reminding residents that idling a vehicle for more than three minutes is prohibited by state law.
The offense carries a fine of $250 and a slew of health risks, according to the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection. The DEP says while one car or truck's emissions may be low, the cumulative effect of millions of vehicles on the road each day in the state has a significant impact on air quality.
As part of an effort to educate residents, "No Idling" signs were placed in school zones in Caldwell and West Caldwell in the fall.
"While waiting for children outside of the schools, please turn off your vehicles," stated a recent Nixle message from Caldwell Police.
Property owners could order no-idling signs from the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection Bureau of Mobile Sources. Standard 12” x 18” aluminum reflective sign cost $14.50 each. (See PDF order form above.)
For more information, visit www.nj.gov/dep/stopthesoot.